Alleghany Educational Foundation

Alleghany Educational Foundation

Alleghany Educational Foundation

Who We Are

In 1985, seven local volunteers, under the aegis of the Alleghany Chamber of Commerce Community Development Committee, explored the possibilities of encouraging local youth to pursue education beyond the high school level. Armed with five-thousand-dollar seed money provided by First Citizens Bank, the Alleghany Educational Foundation, Inc. was about to embark on what would prove to the impetus for a remarkable future in our small, rural mountain community.

Photo of Founder of Ed Foundation



Warren Taylor

First Vice President:

Jay Woodruff

Second Vice President:

Susan D. Murphy


Karen Leys

Emeritus Directors

Clarence Crouse

Margaret Crouse

Evelyn Hash

Frances Huber

Dr. Suzanne Mellow-Irwin

Una Lindh

John Wishon

Rita Woodruff


Bob Irwin


Melissa Vestal, Executive Director

Susan Nilo, Assistant Director

Board Of Directors

Dr. Zach Barricklow

Amy Bottomley

Pratt Davis

Richard Doughton 

Dennis Gambill

Karen Leys

Walt McMillan

J. Sidney Miller

Susan D. Murphy

Shirley K. Richardson

Russell Sheets

Warren Taylor

Missey Weaver

George White

Jay Woodruff

114 S. Main St

Post Office Box 33

Sparta, North Carolina 28675


Contact Us