Alleghany Education Foundation

The Alleghany Education Foundation provides

scholarship and enrichment opportunities to students

in Alleghany County.

Who We Are

In 1985, seven local volunteers, under the aegis of the Alleghany Chamber of Commerce Community Development Committee, explored the possibilities of encouraging local youth to pursue education beyond the high school level. Armed with five thousand dollar seed money provided by First Citizens Bank, the Alleghany County Educational Foundation, Inc. was about to embark on what would prove to the impetus for a remarkable future in our small, rural mountain community.

Photo of Founder of Ed Foundation


Emeritus Director


President: Warren Taylor

First Vice President: Jay Woodruff

Second Vice President: Susan Murphy

Secretary/Treasurer: Karen Leys

Evelyn Hash

Frances Huber

Una Lee Lindh

John Wishon

Rita Woodruff

Jeff A. Cox, Ed.D.

Bob Irwin

Board Of Directors

Chad Beasley

Clarence Crouse

Margaret Crouse

Pratt Davis

Richard Doughton 

Dennis Gambill

Karen Leys

Suzanne Irwin, Ed.D.

Walt McMillan

J. Sidney Miller

Susan D. Murphy

Shirley K. Richardson

Russell Sheets

Warren Taylor

Melissa Vestal

George White

Jay Woodruff

114 S. Main St • Post Office Box 33

Sparta, North Carolina 28675